Royal Perth Yacht Club Celebrates 150 Years

Founded in 1865, the Royal Perth Yacht Club (RPYC) host of the 1987 America’s Cup Race, the third oldest yacht club in Australia, celebrates it’s 150th year.

132 years, the longest winning streak in sporting history came to an abrupt end on September 26, 1983, when Alan Bond’s Australia II beat Dennis Conner’s Liberty by 0:41 seconds. Prime Minister of Australia commented on the victory from Western Australia “Any boss who sacks anyone for not turning up today is a bum”

The victory formally transferred the America’s Cup from the New York Yacht Club to the Royal Perth Yacht Club located in Perth, Western Australia, and introduced the Fremantle Doctor and the great people of Australia, and the Men from a Land Down Under to the world.

The Royal Perth has a long-standing reputation for producing champions and staging major international events. Famous members who have gone on to international status include John Bertrand, Peter Gilmour, Iain Murray, Colin Beashel and lone circumnavigator Jon Sanders. More recently Sebastian Destremau is one of the three top ranked Australian match racers, David Dicks holds the record for the youngest solo circumnavigation, and Noel Robbins has won a Gold medal for Australia in the Paralympics in the Sonar class.

Written by

Please feel free to comment about ClassicSailboats.Org posts, your knowledge will make our website a better experience for all users.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.