1956 Sydney Hobart Yacht Race Film – Hard to Windward

Published on May 20, 2013

Hard to Windward – Courtesy of the Tasmanian Archive/Heritage Office, and the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia – the film of the 1956 Sydney Hobart Yacht Race.



The 1956 Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race, was the 12th annual running of the “blue water classic” Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race.

Hosted by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia based in Sydney, New South Wales, the 1956 edition began on Sydney Harbour, at noon on Boxing Day (26 December 1955), before heading south for 630 nautical miles (1,170 km) through the Tasman Sea, past Bass Strait, into Storm Bay and up the River Derwent, to cross the finish line in Hobart, Tasmania.

The 1956 Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race comprised a fleet of 28 competitors, an increase of 11 yachts compared to the number in the 1955 race. Line-honours were awarded to Kurrewa IV, which raced out of New South Wales and was owned and skippered by brother’s J. & F. Livingston. With the overall handicap winner – Solo – 3:08:33:52


Kurrewa IV J. & F. Livingston
Solo V. Meyer
Anitra V Trgyve and Magnus Halvorsen
Carol J J. Halliday
Catriona D.M. Brown
Janzoon W.R. Slade
Southern Myth N.C. Howard
Winston Churchill Sir Arthur Warner
Ingrid J.S. Taylor
Siandra G.P. Newland
Ripple R.C. Hobson
Samuel Pepys RNSA
Fantasy D. Burridge
Lahara D.N. Ashton
Lorraine D.G. Nicholls
Tarni G. Wignall
Romava R.J. Mercer
Kurura J.A. Clark
Nirvana Dr K. Lewis
Niripa G.E. Peacock
Tam O’Shanter RAN College
Pha’ar Re R. Cottee
Serenade L. Esdaile
Vailima J. McLaren
Four Winds RAN College
Renene P.S. Parry
Ranston A. Roper
Wraith of Odin Dr B. O’Brien


Written by

Please feel free to comment about ClassicSailboats.Org posts, your knowledge will make our website a better experience for all users.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.